Rovers Fc D1 Win Bank of Guam GFA Cup Vs Shipyard

Rovers Fc D1 Win Bank of Guam GFA Cup Vs Shipyard

[May 31, 2016 – Harmon, Guam] – The Rovers FC D1 capped their Budweiser Soccer League championship from earlier in the year with another championship – the Bank of Guam 9th Annual GFA Cup.

The Rovers FC D1 defeated 2015 champions Guam Shipyard 2-1 in a highly physical match that saw both sides receive yellow cards and the Rovers’ Jason Cunliffe exit in the 73rd minute with a red card.

Jason Cunliffe and Logan Dillenburger scored for the Rovers and Mark Chargualaf scored for Guam Shipyard. The championship win is the Rovers’ second in GFA Cup tournament history.

The Rovers were presented the GFA Cup perpetual trophy from William N. Li, Assistant Vice President and Marketing Officer with Bank of Guam, during an awards ceremony after the match.

Also receiving awards following the GFA Cup final match were winning teams and players from the recently concluded Budweiser Soccer League. The Rovers FC D1 captured the BSL Premier championship trophy, Guam Shipyard’s Min Sung Choi received the Premier Division Golden Boot award, and the Strykers FC won the Premier Division’s Fair Play award. For Division II, Big Blue D2 was honored with the division championship and the Rovers FC D2’s Kyle Legozzie received the D2 Golden Boot Award. The Applebee’s Strykers FC won the Division 2 Fair Play Award. In the BSL Masters Division, the Rovers Masters won the division championship, with team member Michael Tate winning the Masters Division Golden Boot award. United Masters won the division’s Fair Play award.