Rovers DI Take Budweiser Soccer League Championship

Rovers DI Take Budweiser Soccer League Championship

he Rovers DI (16-4-0) captured the Budweiser Soccer League Division I championship title in just its first year competing in the league’s highest division ahead of former champion Guam Shipyard at second place and last season’s champion, Quality Distributors FC at third place.

In the Rovers’ maiden season in Division I, the team scored 110 goals in 20 matches. Rovers captain Jason Cunliffe finished tied for first place in the Golden Boot race with the Southern Cobras’ Ashton Surber, scoring 32 goals for the season. Two other members of the Rovers finished in the top 5 in the Golden Boot Race: Ian Mariano (18) and Yaw Antwi-Agyei (15).

The Rovers’ Division II and Masters Division teams also had impressive showings, finishing in second place in their respective divisions.

The club recently was incorporated as a non-profit organization and is largely supported by ARC Environmental Services, Ambyth Shipping, Commerical Tire Depot, Lacoste, Pacific Medical Group, Sakura’s Kitchen and Slingstone Entertainment.

For more information about becoming a sponsor for the club or joining its teams, contact Joel Sablan through E-mail at [email protected]

Pictured in the front row from left to right are Richard Hawes, Alfred Agahan, Tony Flores, Yaw Antwi-Agyei, Vinicius Rodrigues, Sisank Kotwal, Natsuki Recella, Keita Yoshida and Joel Sablan. In the back row from left to right are Kyle Legozzie, Jonahan Romero, David McCallum, Jason Cunliffe, Shane Cepeda, Taro Miyamoto, Regis Cavalie, Eric Redona, Ian Mariano, and Antonio Prieto. [The photo is courtesy of Joel Sablan.]