Magahaga beat Metgot in HS Girls All-Star showdown

[May 26, 2016 - Harmon, Guam] Team Magahaga defeated Team Metgot in the first-ever IIAAG Girls High School Soccer League All-Stars invitational - 4-3 in a penalty kick shootout Wednesday evening at the Guam Football Association National Training Center.

The score ended in a 1-1 deadlock by the end of regulation time. Jenna Han's strike from a left-side cross by Jestyne Sablan gave Team Magahaga the lead early in the second half.

Team Metgot's Skyylerblu Johnson leveled the match late in the second half on a penalty kick, earned after her teammate Jalana Garcia was taken down in the box by Team Magahaga defender Aubrey Esteves.

In the ensuing PK shootout, Team Magahaga clawed their way from behind to win 4-3.

Demi Rose Brennan, Colleen Naden, Franshay Shippey, and Sabrina Wiegand all made their penalty kicks for Team Magahaga. Skyylerblu Johnson, Hannah Cruz, and Sabrina Kenney made their penalty kicks for Team Metgot.

Team Metgot goalkeeper Kalila Kim recorded two saves in the shootout, with one other shot sailing over the crossbar. Team Magahaga goalkeeper Mya Sanchez also recorded two saves in the shootout with two others sailing over the crossbar.

The players selected by coaches to the IIAAG Girls High School Soccer League All-Island First Team, Second Team, and Honorable Mention were all put into a blind draw by positions and placed on the two teams, witnessed by team coaches Simie Willter and Ross Awa, as well as GFA Women's Administrator Grace Martinez.

GFA Proud member of: FIFA AFC AFC