Guam Shipyard takes down NAPA Rovers in GFA Cup final

[May 30, 2017 - Harmon, Guam] Guam Shipyard unraveled the NAPA Rovers defense early and secured a 4-1 victory for the Bank of Guam 10th Annual GFA Cup championship title Sunday at the Guam Football Association National Training Center.

Guam Shipyard, four-time winners of Guam’s premier men’s soccer tournament, settled into the match comfortably after taking the lead in just the sixth minute of play. After NAPA Rovers’ Francis Chargualaf intercepted an early cross from Shipyard’s Donovan Reyes and attempted to pass the ball to a teammate, Min Sung Choi managed to get a foot on the ball, setting up teammate Tae Min Kim for a 20-yard screamer from the left side to the opposite post.

The Rovers defense’s woes continued when Nathan Sablan was sent off with a red card in the 13th minute, leaving his team to play with 10 players for the remainder of the match.

Choi doubled Shipyard’s advantage in the six minutes later on a follow-up shot from just inside the 18-yard line as the Rovers were trying to clear a Shipyard corner kick.


NAPA Rovers to face Guam Shipyard in 2017 GFA Cup final

[May 20, 2017 - Harmon, Guam] Defending champions NAPA Rovers FC will have another go at the Bank of Guam GFA Cup title following the team’s 5-0 shutout of the Bank of Guam Strykers in a semifinal match of the 2017 tournament played Friday at the Guam Football Association National Training Center.

The Rovers’ top scorer, Ashton Surber, led the team with a hat trick and teammates Jan Flores and Jorge Hellu also scored in the win.

The Rovers, four-time champions of the Budweiser Soccer League Premier Division, will take on No. 2 Guam Shipyard in the GFA Cup final to be contested May 28 at GFA beginning at 7 p.m.


Top 4 teams advance to Bank of Guam GFA Cup semis

[May 14, 2017 - Harmon, Guam] All attempts at any upset victories in the quarterfinals of the Bank of Guam 10th Annual GFA Cup were averted over the weekend with the tournament’s top four teams advancing to the semifinals set for Friday at the Guam Football Association National Training Center.

No. 1-ranked and defending champions NAPA Rovers blanked their D2 counterparts 5-0 with a hat trick by Ian Mariano and a goal from Logan Dillenburger. The Rovers’ other goal came on a Rovers D2 own goal.

The Rovers are set to face No. 4 Bank of Guam Strykers in the semifinals, scheduled to kick off at 7 p.m. Friday. In head-to-head competition from the recently concluded Budweiser Soccer League Premier Division, the Rovers lead the Strykers 3-1.


Bank of Guam 10th Annual GFA Cup tourney bracket set

[April 1, 2017 - Harmon, Guam] The Guam Football Association Men's Committee, with the support of Bank of Guam released the Bank of Guam 10th Annual GFA Cup tournament bracket following the official draw held Saturday at the GFA National Training Center second-floor lanai.

The official draw was rebroadcast during halftime of the Budweiser Soccer League Premier Division Week 18 match during its Internet live stream on

William Li, Bank of Guam Assistant Vice President and HR Utility Officer, and Gian Tenorio, chairman of the GFA Men's Committee and Executive Committee member, took turns drawing lots to fill the official tournament bracket.


Rovers FC D1 win Bank of Guam GFA Cup vs Shipyard

[May 31, 2016 - Harmon, Guam] The Rovers FC D1 capped their Budweiser Soccer League championship from earlier in the year with another championship - the Bank of Guam 9th Annual GFA Cup.

The Rovers FC D1 defeated 2015 champions Guam Shipyard 2-1 in a highly physical match that saw both sides receive yellow cards and the Rovers' Jason Cunliffe exit in the 73rd minute with a red card.

Jason Cunliffe and Logan Dillenburger scored for the Rovers and Mark Chargualaf scored for Guam Shipyard. The championship win is the Rovers' second in GFA Cup tournament history.


GFA Proud member of: FIFA AFC AFC