Guam Shipyard defeats Rovers for men's 2016 futsal crown

[August 8, 2016 - Harmon, Guam] No. 2 Guam Shipyard upset two-time defending champions and top-ranked Rovers FC to claim the championship title of the 2016 Budweiser Futsal League Sunday evening at the Guam Football Association National Training Center futsal courts.

Guam Shipyard managed to shut down Rovers’ top scorer Ian Mariano and avenged its lone regular-season loss to the Rovers with a 4-3 victory in the league’s title match. Min Sung Choi led Guam Shipyard with two goals and teammates Donald Weakley and Mark Chargualaf also scored in the win. Shawn Spindel, Joseph Crisostomo, and Jonahan Romero each scored once for the Rovers.

In the league’s consolation match, No. 4 Quality Distributors FC defeated No. 3 Strykers FC 9-2 for a bronze finish in 2016.


Rovers lead top four teams to men's 2016 futsal playoffs

[August 5, 2016 - Harmon, Guam] The Strykers FC foiled a perfect regular season record for defending champions Rovers FC in the final round of Budweiser Futsal League matches Wednesday evening ahead of playoffs at the Guam Football Association National Training Center.

Third-ranked Strykers edged the Rovers 5-4 in a physical match that saw three players sent off with red cards before the final whistle.

Ricky Katsumata’s second goal of the night was the eventual game winner following a pair of goals from Vinicius Rodrigues and one from Marcus Lopez for the Strykers. Jonahan Romero led the Rovers with two goals and teammate Logan Dillenburger scored once. The Rovers’ other goal came on a Strykers own goal.


Strykers, Rovers, Quality stay perfect in futsal opening rounds

[July 12, 2016 - Harmon, Guam] The Strykers, Rovers FC, and Quality Distributors remain as the lone undefeated teams in the 2016 Budweiser Futsal League after two rounds of play at the Guam Football Association futsal courts.

The Strykers have the slight edge over the Rovers in standings with a superior goal differential of 15. The Strykers first blanked Hard Rock Café 12-0 in its opening match July 5 and later defeated last season’s runner up, the Southern Cobras 7-4 Satruday. Marcus Lopez and Dylan Naputi each scored a hat trick in the win against HRC and teammates Francis Chargualaf, Scott Spindel and Xavier Naputi scored twice in the win.


Rovers repeat as champions of Budweiser Futsal League

[September 28, 2015 - Harmon, Guam] The Rovers defeated the Southern Cobras 7-5 to repeat as champions of the Budweiser Futsal League at the Guam Sports Complex gym Sunday.

Ian Mariano led the Rovers with a hat trick in the final and teammates Abraham Gutierrez, Shawn Spindel, Robert Putko, and Jason Cunliffe also scored. Ashton Surber, winner of the league's Golden Boot award, finished with a hat trick and teammates Jan Flores and Donovan Reyes also scored. In the league's consolation match, Guam Shipyard defeated Quality Distributors to claim third place. Chris Reyes scored three and Joseph Laanan scored twice for Shipyard. Donald Weakley and Jose Babauta scored Shipyard's other goals. Scott Leon Guerrero and R.C. Salas scored for Quality. Doosan FC, not present at the awards ceremony, won the league's Fair Play award.


Budweiser Men's Futsal championship moved to Sept. 27

[September 20, 2015 - Harmon, Guam] Due to weather affecting the playing surface at the Guam Sports Complex Gym, the Budweiser Men's Futsal League championship and consolation matches have been moved to Sunday, Sept. 27 - the Southern Cobras vs Rovers championship match is scheduled for 4 p.m. The consolation match between Guam Shipyard and Quality Distributors will kick off at 3 p.m.

The defending champions Rovers finished first in the league with a 6-1 record, dropping its lone match to Guam Shipyard. The Cobras finished in second place with a 5-2 record and a +32 goal differential, finishing above Quality Distributors (5-2) with a +24 goal differential and Guam Shipyard (5-2) with a +13 goal differential. Only the top four teams moved on to the playoffs.


GFA Proud member of: FIFA AFC AFC